Writer, Meet Block. Block, Writer.

Just when I thought I’d gotten over a block for a novella idea that I’d had since May of ’06, I hit the damn wall again. I think it is partly because I am over-analyzing things. Another is probably because I rarely write with an outline. I just write, and things (often) work out. Today, I started to do an outline for the novella, with the hope of removing the block, but to no avail. I ended up over-analyzing the outline itself. Perhaps this is how real writers do it, I don’t know. It was just frustrating. So, I started working on a new, shorter piece. However, thoughts about my stalled novella kept popping in-and-out of my cognizance, distracting me from my other project. So, I stopped that other project, too. That was when I just started reading blogs here in order to completely separate my consciousness from the novella. To my chagrin, I ran across the blog of a writer who’d written a book whose main idea revolves around the same idea that I had for my novella, and my heart sank. The thought of another writer–whose book is on Amazon.com, by the way–was enough to remove the wind from my sails. I’m seriously contemplating walking away from my idea, but that would be too defeatist, wouldn’t it? I mean, I could always put a different spin on my own idea to make it unique and original while maintaining my initial premise. Sigh…I guess I’ll have to sleep on this. Perhaps a renewed clarity will overcome me after a good night’s sleep.

2 Responses to “Writer, Meet Block. Block, Writer.”


  1. 1 missharleyquinn January 11, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I love writing, the act of it, the spilling of words on to paper. So, I’ve never worried about getting published or having ideas similar to others, because the writing tends to be for me and maybe a few friends trapped into hearing it, thats about it. Why not write the novella for the pure joy of it? I wish you well in whatever you choose. 🙂

  2. 2 jonsquared January 11, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    You’re absolutely right! Thanks for giving me the extra nudge that I needed. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

