I’m Sick (of It)!

So, it’s Day 3 of my stupid tonsillitis attack and I finally had to stay home today. On Wednesday and Thursday, against my better judgment, I went to work, only to go home midway because of my condition. Everyone kept asking, “Is something wrong?” and I would say, “No, why?” and they would respond, “Well, you’re not your usual self.” That’s because I’m sick, Einstein! I had to dig for the kettle pot for a constant supply of hot water for my Throat Coat tea. Have you heard of that product? It’s by a company called Traditional Medicinals:

The secret lives of plants have captured our imagination and respect with their beauty and mystery. For over thirty years, we have offered you reliable brews, blending our reverence of herbal plants with the wisdom of the ancient arts of Traditional Herbal Medicine and the most modern scientific methods of quality control. As important as our work with herbal plants, we also practice a deep respect for the earth and for humanity, striving always to ensure that our intentions and actions mirror our passions and beliefs. [Excerpt from the “About Us” section of their website.]

It’s fantastic! The minute I drink the tea, I feel this soothing sensation around my throat. Sure, it’s not specifically for my tonsils; antibiotics normally does the trick for that. But I’m trying to deal with my ailments holistically these days. (And by “holistic” I mean coupled with Tylenol.) Anyway, it’s been nearly a year since my last tonsillitis attack so I’m actually quite happy about this (despite being sick, that is). I would normally get a tonsillitis attack every two-to-three months, but that hasn’t happened since I’ve moved back to Oregon. Oh, sure, I suddenly developed allergies and have had to take Claritin on a daily basis, but I’m not complaining. At least I don’t have to have my tonsils removed.

The most irritating thing about being sick, of course, is the idleness of it all. I can’t do anything, and I’m starting to get cabin fever. To top it off, I’ve been watching a lot of TV. I watched more TV today than I do in a whole week. What’s worse is that I’m somehow drawn to the E! Network. There is nothing worse than being sick except being subjected to one annoying “newsflash” or another about that f**king Britney Spears. (Pardon my French.) I’m so sick of her, her trailer trash family, her loser ex-husband, and the stupid people that she surrounds herself with. Believe me: I don’t try to keep up with her. But news about her is everywhere! It’s driving me batty! Hmm, perhaps I should change the channel…

Anyway, I think I’m feeling much better now. I’m hoping that I kick this thing before the weekend rolls. I’d hate to be stuck indoors for three whole days! Peace out.

1 Response to “I’m Sick (of It)!”


  1. 1 abf22 February 1, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Thanks for a new cold remedy. Always useful! Am enclosing old-fashioned “chicken soup vibes” with this response to help speed up your recovery.

    Thanks, too, for responding to my first blog entry. So appreciate your taking the time to do so!


Leave a Reply

