Freakcited!

On Friday, I fly out to SLC on a ski vacation, and I am stoked! I’ll be staying at a buddy’s house approximately 45 minutes from Park City, where we’ll be skiing on Saturday. We also plan to hit Solitude, Deer Valley, and possibly Alta over three days. I’ve known my buddy and his wife for over fifteen years, having first met them in my current hometown. Another buddy of ours will be flying in from Washington, DC, with his girlfriend. The last time we all skied together– let alone hung out as the Three Amigos– was nearly a decade ago. In addition to the skiing, I am excited to be spending time with the bastards, catching up, and reminiscing about old times.

I am also extremely freaked out about skiing. The last time I skied was, in fact, almost ten years ago. By then, I’d skied only three other times. How much of the skills that I developed back then have I retained? Is it like riding a bike that once I don the gear, I’ll be slaloming in no time? When I agreed to this ski trip a few months ago, I was untouchable. Now, I’m feeling the equivalence of stage fright. Mostly, I’m just concerned about hurting myself. Am I setting myself up for a self-fulfilling prophecy? Or is acknowledging this fear my body’s way of building up the necessary defense mechanisms?

Alas, I’m certain that I’ll be able to shake it off once I’m up there on the mountain, and I would think this post was ridiculous. Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Freakcited!”


  1. 1 Bryan February 21, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Here I am wishing you good luck. Though I don’t know that skiing skills stick with you like biking. But hey, let us know. We can’t wait to hear the report. Regardless, there’s no doubt it will be fun. Wishing we were there to enjoy it with you.

  2. 2 jonsquared February 22, 2008 at 6:12 am

    @ Bryan – Thanks! I’m waiting for my flight right now, and am back to being more on the “excited” side of the trip than I am on the “freaked out.” I will definitely give a full report. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

