Treading Lightly on New Machine

I’m in love with the new TreadClimber at the gym. When my lower back is hurting– which is too frequently these days– and I know that running will only exacerbate the issue, I do a brisk walk on the treadmill instead. Unfortunately, even after walking 3 to 4 miles on the treadmill at a 14-minute mile pace or faster, I still feel like I’m not getting a good enough alternate workout.

Enter the TreadClimber, a fusion of the treadmill and stair climber. The great thing about the TreadClimber is I’m able to achieve my target heart rate (for cardiovascular efficiency) during the workout, which I can’t when using the regular treadmill. This machine allows me to burn twice as many calories within the same amount of time as on a treadmill.

I had to find my balance the first couple of times I used the machine. But, soon, I was TreadClimbing like a pro, and getting a better workout. Plus, my lower back doesn’t hurt at the end of my workout. Big bonus! The only downside is that we only have two of these machines at the gym and, in spite of arriving there between 5:00 a.m. and 5:30 a.m., I find that other members have beaten me to them– they themselves having found the benefits of the fantastic contraption.

I hope that the gym management realize how popular these machines have become and would hopefully trade in some of the ellipticals for a couple more.

4 Responses to “Treading Lightly on New Machine”


  1. 1 theorangeoptimist March 31, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Portland weather. No joke. At least you have fancy indoor machines to run on 🙂 What kind of camera you lookin’ at?

  2. 2 jonsquared April 1, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    @ theorangeoptimist – Don’t really have a particular camera in mind just yet. I just want to upgrade from my standard digital. I really want a 35mm camera with zoom lenses up the wazoo 🙂 but don’t necessarily want to give up the convenience of digital.

  3. 3 theorangeoptimist April 2, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Have you thought about getting a DSLR? It’s essentially a 35mm SLR and a digital camera love-child. Newegg has some decent reviews on them too.

  4. 4 jonsquared April 3, 2008 at 10:36 am

    @ theorangeoptimist – Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll check out that site.


Leave a Reply

