Guilty Pleasure: Home Improvement Shows

A love of architecture and design has paved the way for an addiction to home improvement shows. I don’t watch a lot of TV, but when I do, it often includes programs that feature home remodeling, space design, and landscaping.

Saturdays consist of at least four hours worth of such programs, mostly brought to me via HGTV. Among my favorites are Designed to Sell (a program that helps homes sell through a $2,000 redesign) and Color Correction (a program that shows how to use color cohesively in a space).

In my current line of work, I am often tasked with the responsibility of developing space design that will be conducive to my clients’ needs, including some fabrication work. These TV shows not only provide an enjoyable viewing experience but are also a constant source of new ideas or validation about concepts for space design.

2 Responses to “Guilty Pleasure: Home Improvement Shows”


  1. 1 The Handyguys April 7, 2008 at 4:18 am

    Might I suggest you add our podcast to your list of shows. The Handyguys do a weekly podcast on home improvement topics. You can find it at http://www.handyguyspodcast.com

    The Handyguys

  2. 2 jonsquared April 7, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    @ The Handyguys – Sweet! I’ll check out your site. Thanks for visiting. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

