Ultimate Trio: Eatin’ Good in the Neighborhood

On Sunday night, we ate at Applebee‘s by default. It was by default because we ended up there after beginning our discussion about dinner going back and forth between having Mexican or Chinese cuisine. Our biggest consideration would be to ensure that our fussy dinners (two toddlers and a vegetarian–hmm, that sounds like a CBS sitcom) would have something to eat. When we left the house, we decided on Mexican and went to a place that I’d read about was good and was close-by. Unfortunately, when we arrived at the restaurant, the hours of operation sign on the door proudly announced that they took their siesta on Sundays. That was to say, they were closed. So, off to Applebee’s we went.

Now, there’s nothing inherently wrong with Applebee’s. I think it’s a safe bet when you just want to have “something to eat.” It’s not going to end up on Conde Nast or Fodor’s any time soon, but it’s not entirely nasty either. When I opened the menu, I was rewarded with the tantalizing image of a plate brimming with boneless hotwings, two miniburgers, and a sliced steak quesadilla towers. That was it. I knew exactly what I was going to order. So, when the waiter asked me for my selection, I lifted the menu, showed him the picture, and said, “Exactly as shown.”

One thing about menus, I was reminded later, was that the food rarely looks as appetizing in real life as they do in the carefully prepped photos. My “Ultimate Trio” came in three kidney bean-shaped ceramic containers atop a 14″ plastic platter lined with wax paper. Not only did it not look “exactly as shown” on the menu, my order also looked puny and I doubted it would fill me up.

Lo and behold, halfway through the visually unappetizing treat, I was busting at the seams. Don’t get me wrong; I managed to finish the meal, but it took a while. And it was actually quite tasty. Again, they won’t pass the Iron Chef judges– especially those from the original Japanese version of the show– but they weren’t nasty.

So, if you happen to end up at Applebee’s at some point, try their “Ultimate Trio” menu, and you’ll soon find yourself “eatin’ good in the neighborhood.”

3 Responses to “Ultimate Trio: Eatin’ Good in the Neighborhood”


  1. 1 curlywurlygurly April 21, 2008 at 6:50 am

    glad you had a good dinner…we don’t frequent our local ‘crapple-bees’ because of the Chicken Grizzle Incident of 2005. i won’t rehash the horror here, lest i put you off of applebees for good… 🙂

  2. 2 jonsquared April 21, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Wait, what Chicken Grizzle incident?!! Must Google search…

  3. 3 curlywurlygurly April 21, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    oh, you won’t find any info on google–it was a personal experience with a chicken wrap gone horribly awry. again, i’ll spare you the details. 🙂


Leave a Reply

