Voice Actor? Check.

Well, I can add “voice acting” to my repertoire of “things I have done.” I just got finished from having spent about an hour in a recording studio “acting out” a monologue that will be used for a project of a friend of a friend. The final product will be an animated short (approximately 2½ minutes long). It was tougher than I’d originally anticipated. At first, I thought I’d be looking at an actual animation and then match my voice to the emotions conveyed by the animated character. Instead, my voice track would come first and the animator will then create the animation around it. The “director” (who is also the animator) just gave me cues like “Make this portion sound more sarcastic” or “Try to make that section sound like the guy is very proud.” Not being an actor, I wasn’t used to the directions and just did the best approximation of what he was looking for. Thankfully, the animator and the “sound guy” seemed to be happy with the takes. They informed me that it would take a couple of months for the full project to be completed but that a “mock” should be ready in about a month. They will send me a copy of the mock so that I will have an idea of what the finished product will look like. I’m at once excited and apprehensive about this. I told the animator that I hope I’d helped with his project, and he assured me that I did. But, two months is a long time. It would be enough time for them to find another voice actor, for instance. Regardless, I’m very glad that I did this. If nothing else, I opened myself to the exciting world of voice acting, and will not shy away from the next opportunities.

5 Responses to “Voice Actor? Check.”


  1. 1 DAVE ID May 18, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Dude, that’s awesome. I hope you will share in the goodness

  2. 2 smysore May 19, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Sounds cool! Congratulations.

  3. 3 jonsquared May 19, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Thanks! It was heck of a lot of fun, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I used to think voiceovers was “acting for the lazy,” that it wasn’t as much work as actual acting. But I found that it took a lot more to convey emotions using just one’s voice than it does if you also had the benefit of showing it through body language. And, yes, I will post the video once/if I receive it. 😉

  4. 4 Jeffrey Kafer June 2, 2008 at 10:58 am

    A lot of people don’t realize what we do is far more difficult than a lot of other acting. Think about it: Traditional acting gives you many tools to convey emotion. Your face, body, voice, etc. With VO, you only have your voice and have to channel everything through it to be convincing.

  5. 5 jonsquared June 2, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Jeffrey. I definitely have a newfound respect for voice actors due to my own personal experience. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

