The Tag That Keeps On Giving and Other Wonders

So, on 06/02/08, I had 371 views of my blog. Can anyone guess why? That’s right, it’s because of the tag that relates to the metal person superhero. (I can’t write the actual moniker any longer for fear that it will continue to unnecessarily draw attention, thereby additionally skewing my viewership stats. Again, I shouldn’t mind, but fair is fair.)

~ ~

May 21st marked the final payment of my car, but instead of a big whoo hoo! and a vehicle title, I got a note from my lienholder on Friday that my final payment hadn’t been received. WTF?! So, I accessed bank account online and saw plain-as-plain that the funds were indeed removed from my checking account on 05/21. I immediately got on the horn with my lienholder who told me that they hadn’t received the payment. I argued that the funds were already removed from my account. “Who has that money?” I asked the helpless customer service rep at my lienholder’s. I then got on my bank’s case, demanding that they figure out what the hell happened. It turned out that my lienholder indeed “cashed” the electronic check on 05/22. WTF?! My bank investigated and apparently the lienholder had posted my funds to a different account. WTF?! Upon further investigation, it turned out to have been my fault because I’d indicated the wrong account number on the electronic check. I questioned this, of course, because I’d been paying this car loan electronically through my bank for the last five years and haven’t made any changes to my account number. How could I possibly then make that kind of an error for my last payment? Well, evidently, I’ve always had the account number noted incorrectly on the electronic check, and someone from my lienholder has been manually inputting the correct account number. Unfortunately, they didn’t notify me so I never knew anything was wrong. And why on my last payment did that someone all of a sudden get lazy and not correct the account number? Did he/she get tired of covering my ass, realized that the check was for a final payment, and decide to get back at me for making him/her do that extra step these past five years? Bizarre! Thankfully, everything is kosher now. I can’t wait to get my car title! Whoo hoo!

~ ~

Today at around 3pm, I hit a wall and wanted desperately to nap. It was my first day back to work after a five-day reprieve and my body, unfortunately, had gotten used to the afternoon naps I allowed myself to shamelessly take during the time off. Big mistake. Now, it’s going to take some doing for my body to get back to not needing the damn naps. Life is so unfair.

6 Responses to “The Tag That Keeps On Giving and Other Wonders”


  1. 1 curlywurlygurly June 3, 2008 at 5:31 am

    congrats on being scott-free on your car! as i was reading your post, my eyes jumped ahead to the second part of the entry in which you ‘hit the wall’ and i thought to myself, oh this isn’t going to be good for the car!!!! hahaha

    i think you should start a petition for afternoon siestas–it would make life so much better. just a short snooze from, oh, say 2-3:30…sounds great, right?

  2. 2 jonsquared June 3, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Yes, mandatory naps for adults will be awesome. I think Google or one of those upstarts actually do have nap times available to their employees. But, I could be wrong about that. (Goes to Google it…)

  3. 3 Slinger June 4, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    you forgot the “WTF” tag for this post. 🙂

  4. 4 jonsquared June 4, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Haha! You’re right, Slinger. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. 5 smysore June 6, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Really strange about the car payment mess. I mean, who manually corrects it for 5 years without notifying you?! Glad it all worked out well.

  6. 6 jonsquared June 6, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    @ smysore – I know, right? Yes, I’m glad that it all worked out, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

