Raise Your Hand If You’ve Never Jaywalked?

feet walkingOkay, I’m not saying that it’s a good thing to jaywalk. In fact, it’s illegal and you can get a ticket. But, if there are no cars coming in either direction, and you’re in a semi-residential area, and you are at a crosswalk staring at a ‘Don’t Walk’ sign–if it’s safe, shouldn’t you be able to go ahead and cross? In fact, it would seem downright silly (even borderline stupid) to not cross.

These were the conditions about a half-hour ago as I was heading home from the bar library and I crossed at a ‘Don’t Walk’ sign and this guy comes up to chastise me, saying “You know, you could’ve waited until the sign said ‘Walk’?”

So, naturally, I told him to “buzz off” (the actual words I used were more “R-rated”) and to mind his own business. Besides, it was a thousand degrees out I had to make a choice between standing still at that crosswalk while a blazing hot sun bombarded me with cancer-causing rays or traipsing “safely” across the street to a shaded area I’d spotted a few seconds prior.

I made my choice. Was I wrong?

What choice would you have made?

5 Responses to “Raise Your Hand If You’ve Never Jaywalked?”


  1. 1 DAVE ID June 28, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I’m from Montreal, Jay-Walking capital of the world. We jump right in traffic, forcing cars to stop and we cross. Oh Yeah! 😀

    Myself, I jay-walk when its safe, other wise, I wait or cross at the corners. Been busted up (not for jay-walking) to much already I don’t run after trouble anymore.

  2. 2 smysore June 29, 2008 at 6:21 am

    I’ve done it too – with kids in tow. Sometimes, its either that or walk more than 1/2 a block in the blazing sun or under a drizzle.

  3. 3 jonsquared June 29, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    @ DAVE – yeah baby!

    @ smysore – wow, kids in tow = extreme jaywalking!

  4. 4 Bryan June 29, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Yeah, I’m sure just about everyone has done it. There was absolutely no point in the guy getting on your case about it. You might change your ways for a cop…but for a total stranger? Yeah right.

  5. 5 jonsquared June 30, 2008 at 3:55 am

    @ Bryan – That was the thing. And he was about my age too, you know, so it wasn’t like he was some sort of ‘authority figure.’ If it had been a senior citizen, I would’ve feigned admission of guilt.


Leave a Reply

