Summer Means Beer. Lots and Lots of Beer!

One thing I love about summer is that a cold pint of beer is such a euphoric experience on an especially hot day. Now, it’s no secret that I love beer. Guinness is my brew of choice at almost any occasion. Take me to a winery and I’ll be jonesin’ for a Guinness. But, when a beer drinker is in Portland, one cannot limit oneself to one brand name regardless of preference. After all, Portland is “the center of the beer universe.” So, why not partake of the myriad choices?

There are nearly 40 microbreweries in P-Town, each having as few as four to as many as a dozen of their own creations on tap everyday. Among my favorite concoctions are as follows:

Black Rabbit PorterMcMenamins

Terminator Stout – McMenamins

Black Lab StoutLucky Labrador Brewing Company

Blackwatch Cream PorterMacTarnahan’s Brewing Company

Black Strap StoutBridgePort Brewery

Sockeye Cream StoutNew Old Lompoc Brewery

Space StoutLaurelwood Public House & Brewery

And these are just from the dark varieties.  During the summer, I tend to also incorporate the lighter side of the beer spectrum– amber and pilsners. Some of my favored lighter drinks are:

Mac’s Amber Ale – MacTarnahan’s Brewing Company

Ruby – McMenamins

India Pale Ale – Bridgeport

Of course, this doesn’t mean I don’t imbibe the more nationally known beers, especially when offered in keg-form at parties. But, the Portland microbrews have found a special place in my belly heart that can never be replaced.

3 Responses to “Summer Means Beer. Lots and Lots of Beer!”


  1. 1 John June 29, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Living in the wilds of Eastern Oregon, I am often left to choose only from those varieties that I can find bottled at Safeway. (Unless I’m lucky enough to be with my good DITH friend, Bryan… sans wives)

    Right now my favorite is ANYTHING from Deschutes; Twilight, Obsidian Stout, Black Butte Porter (#1) and Mirror Pond. Widmers is next followed closely by Full Sail in Hood River.
    Of the ones you mention, I’ve enjoyed the Black Rabbit, Black Lab, Black Strap (a theme perhaps?), and Mac’s Amber.

    As for your confession to drinking the national brands… I try to avoid it. I drank some Blue Moon at a wedding last summer. It’s Coors’ attempt to seem ‘micro’. About the best thing I can say is that it wasn’t bad on a hot day in Montana.

  2. 2 Bryan June 29, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Funny you should mention it. The Wife and I were trying to figure out what tastes better after working outside in near 100-degree weather: beer or iced tea. I think beer wins, but you probably also need an ice tea to re-hydrate a bit.

  3. 3 jonsquared June 30, 2008 at 3:58 am

    @ John – You’d noted some other brands that are faves of mine as well– Black Butte Porter, especially– but I was trying to stay with just the Portland-based brews. Clearly, however, Oregon is blessed with some fine-tasting craft beers that can’t be beat!

    @ Bryan – True dat for re-hydrating afterward. But that’s what vodka is for, no?


Leave a Reply

