Memory

I have horrible memory. In fact, my memory is so bad that…wait, what’re we talking about?

Seriously, though, my memory is so bad that I’m often embarrassed about not remembering something that someone else– be they family member or friend– vividly and fondly remembers experiencing with me. I mean, what the hell was I doing when that particular event/occasion was happening? Was I instantly filing it away to the proverbial ‘garbage bin’ in my brain? Or, was the event/occasion not as ‘special’ to me as it was to the other person/people with whom I had experienced it? After all, what makes a memory stick better than the level of ‘specialness’ of that particular memory? Do I simply have too many amazing memories that the storage capacity in my brain can’t handle? Or am I just incredibly insensitive?

Don’t answer that last one…

My family and friends know how horrible my memory is. In fact, some already preface a ‘great story’ with, “I know you won’t remember this, but you and I used to…” It’s annoying, really, how much fun someone else had at a previous event with me. What’s worse is that they often recount how much fun I had at that same event, and yet I don’t recall one iota of detail about it. Was I that drunk?

And why hasn’t this Ginkgo biloba kicked in yet, dammit?!

Now, where’d I put my underwear…

7 Responses to “Memory”


  1. 1 kjpdel August 8, 2008 at 11:14 am

    from my memories, the answer to your question, “was I that drunk?”, is probably YES

  2. 2 that girl August 8, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Oh, man. My mom took Ginkgo and so did my hubby. Watch out with that stuff. Mom had to stop for reasons I did not comprehend, and the hubby said it gave him really wild, vivid dreams, so he stopped, too.

  3. 3 jonsquared August 8, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    @ kjpdel – quiet you! it’s not like you didn’t partake of the devil’s drink either every once in a while

    @ that girl – hmm, i think i can stand to have some vivid dreams periodically. of course, i won’t remember any of them afterward. sigh…

  4. 4 princess1236 August 8, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Soooo you really don’t remember that amazing night that we spent together; where you …….. 😉

  5. 5 jonsquared August 9, 2008 at 6:47 am

    @ princess – oh man…

  6. 6 Bryan September 13, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    and Jon, you don’t remember that night we…. just kidding

    I have the same problem. I’m glad that I’m not alone. I don’t know what the problem is either. Maybe we should start a support group on…on…crap I can’t remember what we were talking about. Later dude.

  7. 7 jonsquared September 14, 2008 at 8:13 am

    @ Bryan – Nice to meet you. Thanks for stopping by my blog.


Leave a Reply

