Bullet Thoughts // 10.18.08

  • I was at my favorite pho place the other day when I heard a (truly lousy) instrumental version of Auld Lang Syne playing in their in-house music system.  The first thing that came to my mind was “Is there ever really a good instrumental version of that song?”  The next thing that came to my mind was, “Wow, it’ll be Christmas again soon.”  Granted Auld Lang Syne is actually a New Year’s Eve ditty, but it somehow reminded me of Christmas.  Fine, let’s just call it the Holidays.  Perhaps it’s because Halloween is just around the corner, and next thing you know, it’ll be Thanksgiving.  By then, there’s no turning back — we’ll have reached the point of no return.  But it’s also probably because I’ve started to see Christmas stuff popping up in stores.  I mean, can’t we get All Hallows Eve done first before the reindeer and the snowmen and the elves are put on display?  It seems like it was just yesterday when I was celebrating the start of a new year, and here I am nearly at the end of it.  Where has this year gone?  And, then, an epiphany occurred to me: It’s all because of that fucking writers strike at the start of the year.  The strike that stunted the TV shows, and made summer blockbusters go out in the spring instead, effectively making two or three months disappear just like that.  A butterfly effect of sorts happened, and everything got screwed up somehow.  And all of these thoughts came rushing through my fragile being because of a (truly lousy) instrumental version of a (truly lousy) song!  Stupid Auld Lang Syne
  • I am truly stressing over what I should wear for tomorrow night’s hip hop party.  I know, I know.  You’re probably asking yourself, “What the fuck is Jon doing at a hip hop party?”  I know, right!  I mean, I’m the whitest Asian there ever was.  I listen to Metallica, fuhgodsakes!  What could I possibly have in common with people who go to hip hop parties?  And, seriously, should I even try to wear some bling?  Would I look even more like the poseur that I am if I did dangle some ice around my neck?  Please, G-d, don’t make me wear a track suit!  I’m too short to pull that off.  They won’t be feelin’ it, yo!  I knows it!  Sigh.  Maybe I won’t go at all…
  • Babies who look too much like their parents frighten me.  I mean, I know that genetics is playing a role in the likeness between parents and offspring, but when a baby is like a miniature version of the adult you know, it’s quite creepy.  It’s as if cloning was involved somehow.  And these days, who truly ever knows?
  • Nothing is safe anymore.  Bottled water can kill you.  Your walls can kill you.  That lego piece that came from China that you’ve been chewing on can kill you.  What the hell happened?
4 Responses to “Bullet Thoughts // 10.18.08”


  1. 1 goodbear October 17, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    i’m jealous! i want to go to the hip hop party!!!

    regarding wardrobe….easiest thing…find one of those carhart zip-up suit dealies…you can reuse it for the next farmer party, too!

    …i wish i could go!

  2. 2 DAVE ID October 17, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Dude, just go as the whitest metallica lovin Asian guy. Be you. If you ask yourself what you are, you are a poseur, if you don’t care, you are you. Besides what do you have to prove to anyone?

  3. 3 jonsquared October 18, 2008 at 8:30 am

    @ goodbear – I have an extra ticket! Come with!

    @ DAVE – You are right! That’s it! I’m wearing my Winger t-shirt and calling it good!

  4. 4 nectarfizz December 3, 2008 at 10:03 am

    T-shirt and jeans for the party Jon trust me!


Leave a Reply

