Absentmindedness or Is It Something Else?

In my office environment, we have a little kitchenette that houses, among other things, a photocopier, a refrigerator, a microwave, a sink, a dishwasher, cubbies for mail sorting, recycling bins, and drawers for office supplies.  The photocopier is a network printer, and is positioned adjacent to the refrigerator.  Sometimes, when I would print a document and walk over to the kitchenette to retrieve it, instead of going to the printer, I would open the refrigerator and be temporarily confused as to why I’d opened it.  A few nanoseconds later, I would then remember that I’d actually printed something and should therefore have gone to the printer instead.  I realized I was doing this several months ago, and have consciously tried to curb it.

Yesterday, I printed something and, instead of going to the printer, I walked over to the microwave, pressed the button to open its door, and was momentarily confused as to why there was nothing in there.  As usual, it took only a few nanoseconds for me to realize that I was supposed to have gone to the printer.

Am I losing my mind or do I just have a subconscious predilection to food?  I hope it’s the latter, brought on by the recent change in my diet (which lead to weight loss).  But, if that’s so, is my subconscious potentially losing that battle?  Am I inadvertently gearing myself up to straying from my healthy eating habits?

What if it’s the former?  What if this absentmindedness is a sign of something infinitely worse?  I believe myself to be quite detail-oriented, and attribute my success at work to it.  Is immersing myself in too much work-related details causing me to lose my grasp on the simpler tasks?

3 Responses to “Absentmindedness or Is It Something Else?”


  1. 1 DAVE ID November 12, 2008 at 9:13 am

    I think it’s the mind that’s geared towards food and probably that you would rather be not at work or home. Could also just be muscle memory kicking in instead of conscious action

  2. 2 megan November 13, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Who wouldn’t rather go to the fridge or microwave up something than pick up a piece of work-related paper?

  3. 3 jonsquared November 13, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    @ DAVE – that is too logical man!

    @ megan – so true, so true…


Leave a Reply

