Bullet Thoughts // 12.06.08

Common courtesies are all but gone these days. I was at Powell’s this morning, browsing a shelf of books, and someone passed between me and the bookshelf without even an “Excuse me.” This was followed by yet another. I always make it a point to say “Excuse me” if I’m passing between two people or if in a similar situation at a bookstore. Is it too much to ask for from others?

—–

I believe that if you can’t take care of a virtual pet, you’re probably going to be just as irresponsible with one in real life. There is an application on Facebook called Pokey, which provides users with a virtual puppy. Your ‘puppy’ requires regular feeding, watering, playing with, and petting/scratching– in other words, all the things one would expect to do with a real puppy. Maybe it’s a bit like ‘out of sight, out of mind’ but there are some pet owners among my Friends that seem to neglect their puppies, some of whom aren’t fed/watered for 10 days. It’s kinda scary. I want to think that if the puppy were real, they would get better care, but neglect of a virtual puppy seems indicative of real life.

—-

I can’t handle my alcohol anymore. I woke up with a hangover this morning and realized that it was due to only four pints of beer. Four! Not that it’s anything to be too proud of, but I used to be able to down more pints than that without breaking a sweat. I’ve gotten old…

4 Responses to “Bullet Thoughts // 12.06.08”


  1. 1 kjpdel December 6, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    re point # 3
    JJ you’re letting the side down!

  2. 2 megan December 7, 2008 at 7:21 am

    Did you eat anything with your pints? I’ve found that if I drink on an empty stomach, I am infinitely more likely to have a hangover the next morning. I should know…a bottle of wine with nothing but two cookies left me feeling REALLY nice this morning. Plugh.

  3. 3 princess1236 December 9, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Bullet point #2: Happy is on a diet; that is why he has not been feed. 🙂

  4. 4 jonsquared December 9, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    @ K – yeah, sorry man

    @ megan – i only had some sushi, so that’s probably it. but i swear feeling totally full prior to my beerfest. oh, well…

    @ princess – happy DOES need to go on a diet…


Leave a Reply

