What Dreams May Come

Awful movie. But certainly indicative of my nights as of late. I guess I’ve been sleeping very soundly and deeply since my vacation began because I’ve had vivid dreams nearly every night. Gone are the distinctively hotel-related dreams, thankfully, but these new ones are the proverbial mash-ups of themes– from amusement parks to grocery stores to subway trains. I suppose such randomness is par for the course in the land of dreams, but the variety is making my figuring out what the dreams meant a very difficult task.

One common theme is the notion of extraordinary abilities. Whether it’s enhanced cognitive skills or flight or street fighting, my dream self seems to often have a little something extra in the ‘able to do’ department. I suppose that could only mean that I want the same in my waking life– of course, in the figurative sense. Does it show discontentment, I wonder. Or are these wants just a normal part of our daily struggle?

I’ve got another week of dreaming ahead. I wonder what dreams may come…

4 Responses to “What Dreams May Come”


  1. 1 smysore December 30, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    It is amazing how much of your dreams you remember! I rarely remember any of mine, so, I’ve nothing to analyze.

  2. 2 jonsquared December 31, 2008 at 11:49 am

    oddly enough, i didn’t have any dreams last night but probably because i had only 4 hours of sleep…

  3. 3 curlywurlygurly January 1, 2009 at 8:16 am

    i remember my dreams…and they are usually revolve around me chasing errant students who are trying to cut class. a bit of work anxiety? i’d say.

    for a while i was watching ‘six feet under’ (on dvd) and started having crazy dreams about dead bodies–one specifically was about putting lime on bodies and using the liquid to cure cancer. don’t even ask. horrors.

  4. 4 jonsquared January 4, 2009 at 8:09 am

    cwg, you take the cake each time…


Leave a Reply

