Old Sneakers Gain New Life

I hate tooting my company’s own horn because it’s too self-serving sometimes, but our Reuse-a-Shoe program is just something I’m very proud of.  It’s probably not the most innovative thing ever developed, but it’s still something worthwhile, especially when it comes to a big company doing everything that it can to reduce its carbon footprint.

In short, Nike’s Reuse-a-Shoe program ground up old athletic shoes (of any brand) into a material called Nike Grind, a rubber composite that has been used as flooring at school gymnasiums, playgrounds, etc.  In fact, several key locations inside Nike’s World Headquarters– including a regulation track and putting green– employ the Nike Grind technology for its surface treatment.

Every little thing helps when it comes to saving the environment.  And Nike Grind is certainly just another way to contributing to that cause.

1 Response to “Old Sneakers Gain New Life”


  1. 1 megan January 31, 2009 at 6:51 am

    In this case I think you have every right to toot your company’s horn. (I didn’t know you worked for Nike – cool!) This is such a neat program, and it makes me glad to see a big company doing something to counter the waste they produce by recycling not just their products, but others’ as well.

    Since I’m a cheapskate and don’t want to shell out $80 on a new pair of sneakers, I usually wear my sneakers almost through the sole, thus rendering them unsuitable for donation to Goodwill, so I always just throw them out. Next time I am totally going to recycle them. Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

