Sweatin’ to Somethin’

I’d recently (as in the past three weeks) reincorporated weight training into my fitness regimen.  I’m starting out slow, sticking to ‘circuit training’ versus muscle group focus.  It’s not the most challenging resistance workout but I’ve gotta start somewhere, right?  I don’t want to bulk up because I want to be in lean running shape, but I do want to define my musculature a bit.  I’d kill, for instance, to have washboard abs, but that may be a pipe dream. 

Presently, I lift every other day, and do all the muscle groups except for my legs (which I already work out hard enough with my running).  Using machines, I go in this order (with free weight alternative in parentheses):

Chest: Bench Press (or Dumbbell Press)
Back: Lat Pull Down (or Barbell Upright Rows or Dumbbell Rows)
Shoulder: Military Press (or Dumbbell Lateral Raises)
Triceps: Pressdown (or Dumbbell Kickbacks)
Bicep: Curls (or Dumbbell Hammer Curls or Dumbbell Preacher Curls)
Ab:  Crunches (or Leg Lifts)

On my off-days from running (no more than 2 days), I would do Leg Presses, Leg Extensions, and Calf Raises (either seated or standing).

Anyway, because I’m spending more time again in that part of the gym that has the weights, I’ve started to (re)notice a couple of things about my fellow weight trainers that piss me the hell off:

Hogging Equipment
There’s this beyotch in the gym that sits at a machine in between sets instead of allowing anyone else to work in a set.  Sometimes, there are other machines that can work the same muscle group so I have no problem going to those instead.  But in our gym, there is only one ab crunch machine, for instance, and people generally work in their sets.  However, whenever this beyotch is there, she remains at the machine until she completes all of her three sets.  I once asked her if I could work in a set, and she flat out refused saying that she was “almost done.”  Fucking inconsiderate…

Not Using Sweat Towels
There’s another asswipe in the gym who likes to work out in tank tops.  I don’t necessarily have a problem with this, but this bastard is a tall motherfucker, and drapes his sweaty pits over (instead of snaking his arms under) the part of the ab machine that’s designed for a person’s chin.  And he doesn’t layer a sweat towel over the part first, so that part gets the full blast of his smelly juices.  So, the next person who uses it, if not keen on the previous bastard’s sweaty ways, will be subjected to the pungency and stickiness of fresh sweat.  And even when I drape my own sweat towel over the part, I could still smell the bastard’s body odor.  Fucking disgusting…

I’m sure I’ll come up with more, but I should probably just have to mind my own damn business and get my workout on.

3 Responses to “Sweatin’ to Somethin’”


  1. 1 megan February 27, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    I envy your commitment to working out. I joined a gym a couple years ago, but didn’t use it much. I feel too self conscious to work out in front of others.

    That’s a pretty gross sweat story. Some gyms have pretty strict rules about wiping off sweat from the machines. Does your gym have a rule like that? Maybe the sweaty offender could be officially reprimanded…

  2. 2 jonsquared February 28, 2009 at 8:23 am

    meanwhile, i couldn’t get my hungover ass out of bed this morning for a run. sigh…

  3. 3 jwdoom February 28, 2009 at 11:13 am

    I found a lot of good stuff on weighttrainingadvice.com

    And gyms remind me once again that maturity is a myth. Most people are children until the day they die.


Leave a Reply

