Florida-Bound…

So, it’s a little before five on Friday morning and I’m at PDX waiting to board a six am flight to Dallas-Forth Worth, where I have a mere forty-five minutes to traverse that ridiculously huge, multi-concourse airport to make a flight down to Fort Lauderdale, at which I would need to catch yet another flight to finally arrive in Miami at around six this evening.   My buddy is going to pick me up from there and we have still an hour drive to Key Largo, my final destination in the, um, what the hell is Florida’s nickname anyway?  The sunshine state?  Wait, isn’t that Oregon?

At any rate, it’s a sixteen-hour travel day.  It would be a long-ass day, and my buddy– who arrived on Wednesday night– had already warned me that I have two days worth of catch-up bacchanal imbibing to do once I land.

Great…

And, only an hour before my flight, this travel day has already suffered several fails:

Fail #1:  I bought a book two days ago from Powell’s.  I was excited to have gotten it and was looking forward to reading it inflight.  The book is still safely nestled on my nightstand at home.

Fail #2:  I forgot to snag my credit card from my file cabinet.  I only use my credit card when I travel, and otherwise use just my debit cards for everyday purchases.  This way, I know I spend only what I can afford.  Now, I have enough funds to be able to engage in east coast debauchery, but I was somewhat hoping not to dip into that financial well too quickly.  The plan was to use my credit card and then pay the balance off on the next bill.

Fail #3:  I didn’t realize that American Airlines now charged $15.00 for the first bag.  You know, the first bag that was always supposed to be free.  That’s worth a couple of beers or one cocktail at the hotel.

I can’t wait to see what’s in store for the rest of the day.

Meanwhile, don’t you just love how we’ve all turned into shameless, amateur strippers as we prepare to go through the security checkpoints?

2 Responses to “Florida-Bound…”


  1. 1 thedailydish May 13, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Hope you had a fun trip!! Sorry about the book though.. that stinks.

    It was definitely a fun trip! And the other book being left behind actually proved a blessing in disguise as I happened upon a book called “Odd Hours” by Dean Koontz, which I am enjoying immensely.

  2. 2 nat @ book, line, and sinker May 17, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    hope you don’t have to hitch it back home to the pacific northwest! and WHY are strippers in your tags? need i ask?

    I found that the word “strippers” help bring hits to my site so I incorporate them into my posts periodically. So, don’t be surprised if you find that tag on a post about puppies, for instance.


Leave a Reply

