So, I Made Soup Tonight…

I got home at around 6pm and was not too hungry, but I knew that I had to eat something or I won’t have the energy for my run tomorrow morning.  I didn’t have anything prepared, and didn’t necessarily want to just microwave something.  I thought of the most natural thing to do at that point: make soup.

I opened my fridge and dug into my crisper. I took out a white onion, broke off segment of ginger, and grabbed the last unused chayote from a previous cooking expedition.  I thought about having some protein in this soup, thankfully, I had two chicken breasts defrosting in there for the last couple of days.  The last thing I took out was the box of unsalted chicken stock.  Oh, and I also got some bacon.

One thing to note: I have never made soup from scratch before.  And without a recipe.  But I have made some Filipino soups in the past, and I thought, “How bad can it possibly get?”  Luckily, I didn’t have to answer that question negatively.  Here’s what I created:

INGREDIENTS:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed

3 strips of bacon, cut into squares

3½ cups of unsalted chicken broth

1 cup of water

1 medium white onion, loosely chopped

1 chayote (or small green papaya), chopped

2 tbsp ginger, julienned

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp ground black pepper

½ tsp oregano

salt & pepper, to taste

PREPARATION

Peel the skin off the ginger segment, and julienne.  Loosely chop the white onion.  Cut the chicken into bite-size cubes.  Heat the oil in a medium pan, and sauté the ginger for about a minute or until they start to become fragrant.  Add the chopped onion, and sweat until partially translucent.  Stack the slices of bacon and cut into roughly one-inch squares, and add to the pan.  Stir-fry until bacon begins to crisp at the edges.  Add the chicken cubes, oregano, and ground black pepper, and stir-fry the chicken until they’re about a quarter of the way cooked.  Add the chicken broth, water, salt (optional), and pepper (2 to 3 pinches, or optional if using pepper bacon), and bring all the ingredients to a boil for 20 minutes or until the chicken pieces are tender.  Decrease heat to medium-low and add the chopped chayote.  Simmer for 10 minutes or until the chayote has softened.  Turn heat to low, cover the pan, and allow the soup to simmer for an extra 10 minutes. Serve hot.

I’d have to admit that the soup turned out quite well indeed.  It was tasty and filling, especially when I served it over brown rice.  If there’s one thing I would change, it would be to add a bit of a kick to it, with maybe some chili pepper flakes or cayenne powder.  Not too much, but just enough to give it some zing.  Another option would be to add canned tomatoes to give the flavor profile another layer.

Listen to me talk.  Like I know how to cook or something!  If you try out the above recipe, and you happen to like it, let me know, will ya?

Bon appetit!

0 Responses to “So, I Made Soup Tonight…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

