Day 4: Chillaxed

Yesterday was all about going with the flow.

Woke up mid-morning and put in a five-mile run.  I had a tough time with the extreme humidity (even at 9am!) and heaviness in the air (I think it’s called smog).  At halfway through the run, my garments were soaked from sweat.  Thankfully, it was a little cloudy and actually drizzled a bit toward the end.  I could only imagine what it would’ve been like had I run under a bright sun.

Then, after a leisurely breakfast– brunch, really– my brother and I saw the movie Inception.  I’m not going to post a full review just yet, but suffice it to say that I enjoyed the film.  Should I have expected anything less from the director who masterfully delivered Memento? I think not.  Anyway, if you haven’t seen the film yet, I suggest that you see it immediately.  Everything about it was great– the acting, the cinematography, the action sequences, the visual spectacle– and should be ingested on the big screen.

And, because we had time to kill, we decided to do a double-feature and saw The Last Airbender also.  This was, unfortunately, a huge bomb.  Nothing about it, except perhaps (some of) the special effects, was worth the ticket price (or the 3D glasses!).  It was clear that the previews contained all the good parts in the film; everything else was blah.  M. Night Shyamalan couldn’t make lemonade out of the lemons he was given.  Or perhaps he didn’t know how to make lemonade this time.  Too bad.  I truly enjoyed The Sixth Sense and a couple of his previous earlier films.  I think he peaked too soon.  To make matters worse, it was additionally clear that this was only the first of several installments in a franchise the producers were banking on having.  Well, in the “coming out of the gate strong” category, this one failed miserably.  Spend your movie ticket money on a couple of scoops of Baskin-Robbins ice cream instead– it would be more palatable.

Anyway, today may be a chillaxing kind of day as well.  But I have this itch to visit my old high school while my brother did some business in another part of town.  We’ll see how I feel after my morning workout and breakfast.  If the sun comes out, I might just find myself at the pool.

0 Responses to “Day 4: Chillaxed”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

