Day 8: Got Inked! Plus a New President.

For the longest time, I’ve been talking about getting a tattoo.  I’d always wanted to have a Jolly Roger (skull and crossbones) tattooed on my left ankle, but have always chickened out on it.  Plus, I was always drunk when I spoke about it, and that’s not always a good precursor to actually getting inked.

I finally got a tattoo yesterday.  I did it for a couple of reasons:  (1) It was time to put my money where my mouth was;  (2) I wanted to do something significant for having recently turned 40;  (3) I’ve been feeling exceptionally patriotic and wanted to have a tattoo indicative of the Philippine flag.  Plus, what better way than a tattoo to commemorate this momentous trip of mine!

Art by Morbid Tattoo (Makati, Manila, Philippines)

Art by Morbid Tattoo (Makati, Manila, Philippines)

The eight rays of the sun symbolize the first provinces that went into martial law during the Philippine Revolution.  The three stars represent the country’s three major island groups– Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. Here is the actual Philippine flag:

Flag of the Philippines

My country's flag.

I chose this design so that it would be easily recognizable to a Philippine national but will appear to simply be random symbolism to the casual observer.

I’m so glad I didn’t go for the Jolly Roger. 🙂

Oh, and wouldn’t you know that the Philippines would swear in a new president while I’m in town?

4 Responses to “Day 8: Got Inked! Plus a New President.”


  1. 1 goodbear July 26, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    very very cool!
    goodbear/george

  2. 3 Mel Vera Cruz (@melveracruz) June 21, 2013 at 8:16 am

    cool bro. i did that design but no worries man. just happy to see it. 🙂

  3. 4 Mel Vera Cruz (@melveracruz) June 21, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    oops sorry, i’m imagining things. i didn’t do that one. sorry. 🙂


Leave a Reply

